CERCLE

COMMO

écilia 

C

Psychoanalyst, sexologist and couple therapist

In parallel with my university training in Psychology (University of Paris Descartes, Paris V), I undertook psychoanalytical training in 1995, with Dr Jean Begoin (neuropsychiatrist and psychoanalyst, member of the Société Psychanalytique de Paris, known for having contributed to the introduction of Kleinian thought in France).

Apart from the classical psychoanalytic cure, I trained in the United States in shorter therapeutic treatments of psychoanalytic orientation such as brief psychoanalytic psychotherapy and so-called focal psychotherapy (designed by Michael Balint, a student of Sandor Ferenczi.)

I am certified sexologist in Functional Clinical Sexology but I am also inspired by sexoanalysis (therapy applied to sexual disorders, forged by Claude Crépault) which constitutes a psychoanalytical approach in clinical sexology.

This study of the sexual unconscious (and its clinical applications) allows us to discover the sexual conflicts and unconscious anxieties that the sexual disorder carries.

 

Psychoanalytic theory is one of the natural sources of knowledge in sexology and it has made the Western world aware of the reality of a sexual world: "Psychoanalysis can be considered as a model of sexological knowledge" (Georges Abraham - "Psychoanalysis and sexological therapies" 1978).

I was also interested in the Rogerian method (by Carl Rogers), also called "Person Centred Approach" and its impact on Self-esteem, an inner attitude at the core of interpersonal relationships on which I have worked a lot.

 

As a couple-oriented psychoanalyst and sexologist, I work more widely on sexual desire, eroticism in " long-term " relationships but also on dysfunctional behaviours within a couple relationship (manipulation, humiliation, aggressiveness of one of the spouses, etc...) and on sexual dependencies (addiction to cybersex, addiction to prostitution, etc...).

I also focus on the major upheavals faced by couples (stepfamilies, infidelities, gradual decline of the conjugal bond, loss of erotic desire or absence of sexual libido,...) but also on issues linked to the difficulty that some people encounter in establishing an emotional relationship with others.



After living and working in the USA (Seattle), I set up an online consultation service (by video) for expatriates or people living far from my office in Paris.

 

Whether in my office or through video, it is with empathy and a lot of benevolence that I handle the therapeutic relationship that is established with the person who entrusts me his difficulties and wounds, because, as Serge Tisseron evokes, "the therapist who shows an empathic attitude allows a situation to be set up in which his patient begins to give himself representations of his past traumas without fear of finding himself there alone".

 

My clinical priority? To support the human being in search of change or suffering and let him know that by joining his humanity with mine, he is no longer alone.

 

Cécilia Commo

Cécilia Commo is Member of :​

The French Society of Clinical Sexology - SFSC

The National Union of Clinical Sexologists

​The American Psychological Association -  APA

The Seattle Psychoanalytic Society and Institute - SPSI

 

CECILIA COMMO EST MEMBRE DU SYNDICAT NATIONAL DES SEXOLOGUES CLINICIENS
CECILIA COMMO EST MEMBRE DE LA SOCIETE FRANCAISE DE SEXOLOGIE CLINIQUE
CECILIA COMMO EST MEMBRE DE L AMERICAN PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATION

Training, Education & Certification

 

• Sexology training focused on couples (training led by Dr Philippe Brenot, Paris, France)

• Clinical sexology Certificate (training courses provided by Dr François De Carufel - PHD, Paris, France)

• Brief Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy & Focal Therapy training (AEDP Institute,Seattle, États-Unis)

• State of accomplishment for the "Irrational Behavior" course (provided by Dan Ariely, Duke University, Durham, États-Unis)

• Didactical psychoanalysis with Dr J. Begoin, member of the Psychoanalytic Society of Paris - SPP 

• University Qualification in Psychology  (Paris V - University Paris Descartes - Cycle I)

CERCLE

Psychanalyste, sexologue et thérapeute de couple

COMMO

écilia 

C

Parallèlement à ma formation universitaire en Psychologie (Université Paris Descartes, Paris V), j'ai entrepris une formation psychanalytique en 1995, avec le Dr Jean Begoin (neuropsychiatre et psychanalyste, membre de la Société Psychanalytique de Paris, connu pour avoir contribué à introduire la pensée kleinienne en France).

Indépendamment de la cure psychanalytique classique, je me suis formée aux États-Unis à des traitements thérapeutiques plus courts d'orientation psychanalytique comme la psychothérapie psychanalytique brève et la psychothérapie dite focale (conçue par Michael Balint, élève de Sandor Ferenczi).

Je suis certifiée en Sexologie Clinique fonctionnelle ainsi qu'en Sexoanalyse (thérapie appliquée aux troubles sexuels), cette dernière étant fondée sur une approche psychanalytique de la sexologie clinique.

Cette étude de l'inconscient sexuel (et ses applications cliniques) permet de découvrir les conflits sexuels et les anxiétés inconscientes dont le trouble sexuel est porteur.

La théorie psychanalytique est l’une des sources naturelles de la connaissance en sexologie et on lui doit d'avoir fait prendre conscience au monde occidental de la réalité d'un monde sexué : “On peut considérer la psychanalyse comme modèle d’un savoir sexologique” (Georges Abraham - "Psychanalyse et thérapies sexologiques" 1978).

Psychanalyste et sexologue clinicienne tournée vers le couple, je m'intéresse plus largement aux mécanismes conscients et inconscients du désir sexuel et de l'érotisme au sein des relations sentimentales ainsi qu'aux conduites relationnelles dysfonctionnelles (manipulation, humiliation, agressivité d’un des conjoints, etc…).

Je me consacre également aux bouleversements majeurs que rencontrent les couples (familles recomposées, infidélités, déclin progressif du lien conjugal, perte du désir érotique ou absence de libido sexuelle…) mais également aux problématiques liées à la difficulté que rencontrent certaines personnes à établir une relation affective avec autrui.



Après avoir vécu et exercé aux États-Unis (Seattle), j'ai mis en place un service de consultations en ligne (par vidéo) pour les personnes expatriées ou résidant loin du cabinet à Paris.

Que ce soit en cabinet ou par le biais de la vidéo, c'est avec empathie et beaucoup de bienveillance que j'aborde la relation thérapeutique qui s'instaure avec la personne qui me confie ses difficultés et ses blessures, car comme l'évoque Serge Tisseron "le thérapeute qui fait preuve d’une attitude empathique permet que se mette en place une situation dans laquelle son patient commence à se donner des représentations de ses traumatismes passés sans crainte de s’y retrouver seul".

Ma priorité clinique ? Soutenir l'Être humain en recherche de changement ou en souffrance et lui signifier qu'en joignant son humanité à la mienne, il n'est plus seul.

 

Cécilia Commo

Formations

Certificat en Sexo-analyse, niveaux I, II, III avec le Centre International de Formation et de Recherche En Sexualité (Sorbonne Université, Paris, France)

Formation en Sexologie axée sur le couple (formation dirigée par le Dr Philippe Brenot, Paris, France)

Certificat en Sexologie Clinique Fonctionnelle (formation dirigée par le Dr François De Carufel, Paris, France)

Formation en psychothérapie psychanalytique brève & thérapie focale (AEDP Institute,Seattle, États-Unis)

Certificat sur l'étude des "Comportements irrationnels" (formation dirigée par Dan Ariely, Duke University, Durham, États-Unis)

Analyse psychanalytique didactique auprès du Dr J. Begoin, membre de la Société Psychanalytique de Paris - SPP 

Formation universitaire en Psychologie Clinique (Cycle I - Paris V - Université Paris Descartes)